woman reading book while sitting

Comparing IT Architecture Frameworks: TOGAF vs Zachman vs 4+1 Architecture View with Case Studies


In the world of IT, there are various architecture frameworks that can help organizations design and implement their IT infrastructure. Three of the most popular frameworks are TOGAF, Zachman, and 4+1 architecture view. In this blog post, we will compare these frameworks and provide case studies to showcase their applications.


TOGAF (The Open Group Architecture Framework) is a widely used framework for designing and managing enterprise architecture. It is a comprehensive framework that covers the entire lifecycle of enterprise architecture, from planning and design to implementation and maintenance. TOGAF is organized into four components: the Architecture Development Method (ADM), the Architecture Content Framework, the Enterprise Continuum, and the Architecture Capability Framework.

Case study 1

One of the most notable examples of TOGAF in practice is its implementation by the US Department of Defense. In 2010, the DoD released its Enterprise Architecture Framework, which was based on TOGAF. The framework has been used to guide the development and implementation of IT infrastructure across all branches of the military, leading to increased efficiency and interoperability.


Zachman Framework is a matrix that provides a structured way of organizing and understanding enterprise architecture. It is based on six perspectives or views, including the What (data), How (function), Where (network), Who (people), When (time), and Why (motivation). This framework provides a holistic view of an organization’s IT infrastructure and how it aligns with business goals.

Case study 2

One of the most well-known applications of the Zachman Framework is its use by IBM to design and implement their IT infrastructure. By using the Zachman Framework, IBM was able to develop a holistic view of their IT architecture, which helped them identify areas for improvement and implement changes that aligned with their business goals.

4+1 Architecture View

The 4+1 Architecture View is a framework that provides a way to describe the architecture of a software-intensive system. It consists of five views, including the Logical View, the Process View, the Physical View, the Development View, and the Use Case View. The goal of this framework is to provide a comprehensive view of a software system that is easily understandable by both technical and non-technical stakeholders.

Case study 3

One example of the 4+1 Architecture View in action is its use by the US Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) to design and implement a new air traffic control system. By using the framework, the FAA was able to develop a comprehensive view of the new system, which helped them identify potential issues before implementation and ensure that the system met the needs of all stakeholders.

Comparison summary

To summarize the comparison between these frameworks, we have created a table to highlight their key features.

FrameworkKey FeaturesApplications
TOGAFComprehensive framework for enterprise architecture, covering entire lifecycleUS Department of Defense
ZachmanStructured way of organizing enterprise architecture based on six perspectivesIBM
4+1 Architecture ViewComprehensive view of software system consisting of five viewsUS Federal Aviation Administration (FAA)


In conclusion, each of these frameworks has its own unique features and applications. TOGAF is a comprehensive framework for enterprise architecture, Zachman provides a structured way of organizing enterprise architecture, and 4+1 Architecture View provides a comprehensive view of a software system. By understanding the strengths of each framework, organizations can choose the one that best suits their needs and design an IT infrastructure that aligns with their business goals.

Discover more from Armel Nene's blog

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading